Online Resource Center


Fair Hearings
OTDA Policy
Language Resources
  NYC HRA Directives:  Not Logged in     
Search Keywords or type in your question (min 3 char.)
PB Home  Back to Documents: 2012 Policy Directives    
Attached Document:

Documents: 2012 Policy Directives

#12-15-ELI: Change in the earned income disregard and Cash assistance poverty level income test for 2012

(This Policy Directive Replaces PD #11-16-ELI and PB #10-74-OPE)

Social Services Law (SSL) Section 131-a(8)(a)(iii) requires that the Cash Assistance (CA) Earned Income Disregard (EID) be adjusted annually on June 1, to reflect the changes in the most recently issued Poverty Level Guidelines of the United States Census Bureau.

The EID is applicable to all Family Assistance (FA) households and all Safety Net (SN) households that include a pregnant woman or at least one child who is applying for or receiving Safety Net Assistance (SNA) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

In addition, the gross earned and unearned income of CA applicants and participants cannot exceed the current year’s Federal Poverty Level Guidelines, based on household size, as published in the Federal Register.

The CA Poverty Level Test applies to all CA households except those residing in temporary housing (e.g. hotels/motels, homeless shelters, domestic violence shelters, Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome [AIDS] housing and congregate care facilities.)



Created: 6/18/2012