GIS 06TA/DC030

GENERAL INFORMATION SYSTEM DIVISION: Employment & Transitional Supports

July 25, 2006

Page: 1

TO: Local District Commissioners, Food Stamp Directors, TA Directors, Staff Development Coordinators

FROM: Russell Sykes, Deputy Commissioner Division of Employment and Transitional

Supports

SUBJECT: Close Out of DFSP in Four Counties (Broome, Delaware, Montgomery, Tioga)

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 25, 2006

CONTACT PERSON: Food Stamp Bureau 518-473-1469 for Policy Questions, or 518-473-

7991 for WMS System Questions

The purpose of this GIS is to inform the four counties still operating a Disaster Food Stamp Benefit Program (DFSBP), **Broome, Delaware, Montgomery and Tioga,** that authorization to operate the DFSBP expires at close of business today, Tuesday, **July 25**th.

We also are reminding the twelve districts (Broome, Chenango, Delaware, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Orange, Otsego, Schoharie, Sullivan, Tioga and Ulster) that originally were authorized to operate a DFSBP due to the recent flooding that whenever the federal government grants permission to operate a DFSBP, it also requires the State to conduct a review of the disaster program within six months of the conclusion of the DFSBP, after which, the federal government may conduct its own review. Therefore, these districts must retain all DFSP case records, logs and documents to be readily available for state and federal review.